Skip to main content

2005 Formula 1 World Championship

2005 - Alonso Becomes First Of The New Guard

2004 produced another crushing season for Ferrari, who secured both titles easily and left the rest of the field trailing in their exhaust fumes. Hopes were pinned on 2005 to change this and a team to step forward and try to take on the deadly combination of Michael Schumacher and Ferrari.

Driver Line-Up

Driver changes saw McLaren hire Juan Pablo Montoya to replace David Coulthard who moved to the newly formed Red Bull Team. Ferrari remained the same with Schumacher & Barrichello, while Williams opted to partner Mark Webber with German Nick Heidfeld.Elsewhere at Toyota saw the Japanese Team take on an experienced line up of Jarno Trulli & Ralf Schumacher.


2005 also marked the end road for several Teams, including Minardi (who would become Toro Rosso in 2006), Jordan (who would became Midland in 2006) & Sauber (who were to be taken over by BMW). It would also be Cosworth’s final season in F1 as an engine supplier and more importantly Michelin's final year as a tyre supplier. Next year would see Bridgestone become the sole tyre supplier of F1.

Ferrari were only able to win 1 Grand Prix and that was the highly controversial USA GP, where only the 6 Bridgestone shod cars took part. While Renault & an on form McLaren carved up the remaining race wins between them, the title fight was between Fernando Alonso & Kimi Raikkonen. Alonso being the more consistent driver, while Raikkonen having blistering speed, but poor reliability in his MP4-20.

The Season

2005 had some fantastic races, including the San Marino GP that saw Alonso defend his lead from a rampaging Michael Schumacher. All out racing at the Japanese GP where Kimi Raikkonen came from 17th on the Grid to steal the win on the last lap. The new Turkish GP saw all 4 driver of McLaren & Renault duke it out in a head to head battle for supremacy, while at Monza marked the first race in many years where there were no retirements.

5 different drivers stood on the top step of the podium, but in the end although there was a valiant fight back by Kimi Raikkonen; Fernando Alonso comfortably took the Driver’s Title with 2 rounds to spare. This made Alonso the youngest ever world Champion and the first non-Schumacher champion since 1999. The Constructors also went to Renault, although McLaren clearly had the car of the season, reliability problems cost them dearly.

2005 China - Field Shot  - © Adam Schorsch

Rubens was well down the order in China battling in the mid-field © Adam Schorsch

Position Driver Team Time
1 F Alonso Renault 1:39:53.618
2 K Raikkonen McLaren +4.0 secs
3 R Schumacher Toyota +25.3 secs
4 G Fisichella Renault +26.1 secs
5 C Klien Red Bull +31.8 secs
6 F Massa Sauber +36.4 secs
7 M Webber Williams +36.8 secs
8 J Button BAR +41.2 secs
9 D Coulthard Red Bull +44.2 secs
10 J Villeneuve Sauber +59.9 secs