Skip to main content

Latest News

  • Button crowned World Champion with 5th in Brazil

    Jenson Button has won the 2009 Formula One Drivers World Championship in a chaotic, intense Brazilian Grand Prix.

    Button took an well earned 5th place having started a lowly 14th on the grid by a combination of sheer pace, a cool head, and some stunning overtaking manoeuvres.

    A dash of irony perhaps, a Briton has sealed the F1 Drivers Championship against a Brazilian competitor, in Brazil, by taking 5th position, two years in a row! Only it was Hamilton vs Massa last time.

    A word about his title rivals, Rubens Barrichello's Interlagos (bad) luck hit him again, as he had to make an unscheduled pit stop due to a rear-left puncture. That wasn't the whole story though, as Rubens in all honesty didn't have the pace to win today to keep his championship chances alive - he would have finished 4th without the puncture.

    Sebastian Vettel ruined his chances yesterday in qualifying, being knocked out in Q1. He had a stellar drive ending up a hard earned 4th, from starting 15th.

    Whatever the other two guys did, Button drove like a man possessed today, he showed the passion and desire that a few have questioned in recent races.

    With the pressure off, the hangover over (well perhaps!), I'll be surprised if we don't see the old Jenson Button - from the first 7 races - back next time out in Abu Dhabi.

Tagged with...
  • Brazilian GP 2009
  • Jenson Button
  • Brawn
  • Autodromo Jose Carlos Pace (Interlagos)
  • Brazil
  • 2009 Season
  • (won't be published)
  • What color is Ferrari?
  • There are no comments yet.
Button and Brawn celebrating their 2009 drivers and constructors titles in Brazil - © BrawnGP

Brawn sewed up both titles in Brazil © BrawnGP

Position Driver Team Time
1 M Webber Red Bull 1:32:23.081
2 R Kubica BMW Sauber +7.6 secs
3 L Hamilton McLaren +18.9 secs
4 S Vettel Red Bull +19.6 secs
5 J Button Brawn +29.0secs
6 K Raikkonen Ferrari +33.3 secs
7 S Buemi Toro Rosso +35.9 secs
8 R Barrichello Brawn +45.4 secs
9 K Kobayashi Toyota +63.3 secs
10 G Fisichella Ferrari +70.6 secs
11 V Liuzzi Force India +71.3 secs
12 H Kovalainen McLaren +73.4 secs
13 R Grosjean Renault +1 Lap
14 J Alguersuari Toro Rosso +1 Lap
DNF K Nakajima Williams +41 Laps
DNF N Heidfeld BMW Sauber +50 Laps
DNF N Rosberg Williams +44 Laps
DNF A Sutil Force India +71 Laps
DNF J Trulli Toyota +71 Laps
DNF F Alonso Renault +71 Laps