Skip to main content

Latest News

  • Renault given suspended permanent F1 ban

    Renault have been handed a suspended permanent ban from the FIA Formula One World Championship at the World Motorsport Council meeting in Paris today.

    In laymen's terms, the ban will only come into force if they are "found guilty of a comparable breach" within a 2 year period (until the end of the 2011 season).

    RenaultF1 (the team) will have to pay all of the FIA's costs relating to the investigation, and Renault (the car manufacturer) are "committed to making a significant contribution to FIA safety-related projects".

    Flavio Briatore, former Renault team boss has been given an "unlimited" ban from partaking in any capacity; FIA accredited series, organisation or driver. That means he won't be seen in motor racing circles again, and Mark Webber, Heikki Kovalainen, amongst others will have to find a new manager.

    Pat Symonds, former technical director at the team has a 5 year ban in similar nature to Briatore's.

    Nelson Piquet Jnr was in attendance this morning however escaped penalty because of the immunity given to him by the FIA for coming forward.

    Fernando Alonso was summoned to the meeting and simply thanked for his cooperation and absolved him of any involvement in the case.

    Full FIA announcement here.

Tagged with...
  • FIA
  • Renault
  • Singapore GP 2008
  • Singapore GP 2009
  • Flavio Briatore
  • Pat Symonds
  • Nelson Piquet Jr.
  • Fernando Alonso
  • 2009 Season
  • 2008 Season
  • (won't be published)
  • What color is Ferrari?
  • There are no comments yet.
FIA truck - © Robert Stokes

FIA truck at Silverstone 2008 © Robert Stokes

Position Driver Team Time
1 F Alonso Renault 1:57:16.304
2 N Rosberg Williams +2.9 secs
3 L Hamilton McLaren +5.9 secs
4 T Glock Toyota +8.1 secs
5 S Vettel Toro Rosso +10.2 secs
6 N Heidfeld BMW Sauber +11.1 secs
7 D Coulthard Red Bull +16.3 secs
8 K Nakajima Williams +18.4 secs
9 J Button Honda +19.8 secs
10 H Kovalainen McLaren +26.9 secs
11 R Kubica BMW Sauber +27.9 secs
12 S Bourdais Toro Rosso +29.4 secs
13 F Massa Ferrari +35.1 secs
14 G Fisichella Force India +43.5 secs
DNF K Raikkonen Ferrari +4 Laps
DNF J Trulli Toyota +11 Laps
DNF A Sutil Force India +12 Laps
DNF M Webber Red Bull +32 Laps
DNF R Barrichello Honda +47 Laps
DNF N Piquet Jnr Renault +48 Laps