Skip to main content

Driver Talk

  • Driver Talk - Brazilian GP Practice

    Round 18 and the final race of the 2008 season, where we will see a new World Champion being crowned; in the form of either Lewis Hamilton or Felipe Massa. Brazil also marks  the swan song and final competitive race for our own David 'Old Git' Coulthard. Felipe Massa took the early honors by going fastest in Practice 1 with a 1:12.305. Whereas Renault's Fernando Alonso made for an upset in Practice 2 by going fastest with a 1:12.296.  Although Webber is looking strong in Practice form, DC seems to be struggling with finding the balance of his specially decorated Red Bull. Here's what our boys had to say on Friday nite:-

    David Coulthard:

    Prac 1: 18th - 1:13.861, Prac 2: 11th - 1:12.896, Prac 3: 16th - 1:13.058

    "There were changeable conditions out there. It was spitting with rain in the second session, so we took the decision to run a fresh set of tyres early on, just in case it rained towards the end. We haven't achieved the ultimate lap time, but I think we made progress during the day to stabilise the car."

    Mark Webber:

    Prac 1: 7th - 1:13.298, Prac 2: 5th - 1:12.650, Prac 3:8th - 1:12.453

    "We had a pretty productive day. I was happy with the car quite early on in the session as we got the balance right, which is always a good start. Getting on top of the tyres is not easy and we had quite changeable conditions, but overall that was a good start to the weekend."

Tagged with...
  • Brazilian GP 2008
  • Red Bull
  • David Coulthard
  • Mark Webber
  • Autodromo Jose Carlos Pace (Interlagos)
  • Brazil
  • (won't be published)
  • What color is Ferrari?
  • There are no comments yet.
2008 Brazil - Hamilton - © diogo dubiella

Hamilton & McLaren don their orange victory t-shirts as the Brit celebrates his life long dream come true © diogo dubiella

Position Driver Team Time
1 K Raikkonen Ferrari 1:28:15.270
2 F Massa Ferrari +1.4 secs
3 F Alonso McLaren +57.0 secs
4 N Rosberg Williams +62.8 secs
5 R Kubica BMW Sauber +70.9 secs
6 N Heidfeld BMW Sauber +71.3 secs
7 L Hamilton McLaren +1 Lap
8 J Trulli Toyota +1 Lap
9 D Coulthard Red Bull +1 Lap
10 K Nakajima Williams +1 Lap
11 R Schumacher Toyota +1 Lap
12 T Sato Super Aguri +2 Laps
13 V Liuzzi Toro Rosso +2 Laps
14 A Davidson Super Aguri +3 Laps
DNF A Sutil Spyker +28 Laps
DNF R Barrichello Honda +31 Laps
DNF H Kovalainen Renault +36 Laps
DNF S Vettel Toro Rosso +37 Laps
DNF J Button Honda +51 Laps
DNF M Webber Red Bull +57 Laps
DNF S Yamamoto Spyker +69 Laps
DNF G Fisichella Renault +69 Laps